Research & Theory Division

AECT logo

Mission Statement

Research & Theory is the division of the Association for Educational Communications & Technology (AECT) that promotes the development and advancement of theory; promotes, presents, and disseminates research and scholarship that encompasses multiple perspectives; advocates the study of social and cultural issues in the field; supports, fosters, and mentors emerging scholars.

Join Us

AECT members can click here to join the Research & Theory Division and click the 'Sign Up' icon to join. If you are not an AECT member, you can join today and select the Research & Theory Division.

2020-2021 Board Members

Past-President: Dr. Eunjung Grace Oh

President: Dr. Feng-Ru Sheu
President-Elect: Dr. Heather Leary
Board Member At Large: Dr. Spencer Greenhalgh
Communications Officer: Dr. Bret Staudt Willet
Secretary: Dr. Lucas Vasconcelos
AECT Board Representative: Dr. Rick West
Featured Research Coordinator: Dr. Moon-Heum Cho
Professional Development Coordinators: Dr. Wanli Xing (past);  Dr. Ismahan Arslan-Ari (present); Dr. Yu-Ju (Sharon) Lin (elect)
Graduate Student Representative: Ratrapee (Inging) Techawitthayachind

AECT Ethics Committee Representative: Dr. Jenny S. Wakefield


Awards: Dr. Eunjung Grace Oh
Early-Career Symposium: Dr. Ismahan Arslan-Ari; Dr. Wanli Xing; Dr. Heather Leary;  Dr. Spencer Greenhalgh
Webinars: Dr. Yu-Ju (Sharon) Lin
Featured Research: Dr. Moon-Heum Cho
Theory Spotlight Competition: Dr. Heather Leary; Dr. Spencer Greenhalgh; Dr. Moon-Heum Cho; Dr. Bret Staudt Willet

Educational and Publishing Partners